A love poem *cringe* ;)

21 Oct

I used to be very embarassed about showing people any sort of poetry I had written – not to mention such slushy heart-baring stuff as this. Now it doesn’t bother me too much, and I think publishing stuff via the net gives a sense of detachment too, so it feels less exposing and embarassing, even though in reality I am exposing my quite bad poems to a potentially infinite worldwide audience (potentially infinite – my blog hit counter registers just a very modest number of people viewing this site). Nevertheless I will still blush if anyone I know mentions having read this blog, but then I tend to go red at pretty much any given situation anyway, so it doesn’t matter.

I wrote this poem a few months ago for my American girl (cf: Your Red Sock, Siren Call). We are no longer together. Really it would increase the appeal of this blog (such as it is) if I spilled my heart on the matter, but I don’t really go in for that.

This is a poem expressing those times when all you really want is her, and you can never quite get enough. I still feel like this about her to a degree, but that’s no use as our differences are too extreme. I will probably write a poem about losing her (again) soonish.

On to the poem itself:

 

I miss you, I want you; yearn to reach out

and touch you, across the

vast grey wastes of water

that divide us;

 

Touch you with my hands

that are always empty without you,

feel the warmth of your skin,

beautiful brown, next to mine.

 

I could spend a lifetime exploring

the contours of your body – every smooth line -

an hour drinking down the taste

of your lips, sweet like wine.

 

To taste the very essence of your being

is what I thirst for,

to swallow every last drop

is what I want – and then more.

 

I want to talk with you, laugh with you,

tell you all the ways

that I love you.

Or just stand and smile for days,

 

in silent heart-swelling happiness.

 

Perhaps I’ll show you poems (better left unread)

or tell you daft jokes (better left unsaid).

Sit with you on a park bench,

lie with you in a soft bed.

 

You make me feel more than lust.

I lie awake and dream of your dark eyes, your lips, your bum;

dream of thrusting inside you until we

together come.

 

I want you to lie in bed

all morning with me,

and we’ll tell the rising sunne

he’s only half as happy as we.

7 Responses to “A love poem *cringe* ;)”

  1. ocksblog October 23, 2009 at 11:34 am #

    I put a little reference to my favourite love poem – THe Sunne Rising, by John Donne – in the last stanza.

    If you haven’t read The Sunne Rising then do it, it’s great

  2. stationarypilgrim October 23, 2009 at 11:57 am #

    A beautiful poem! I know how you feel, I struggled with mixed emotions about sharing my artwork and poems at first. It gets easier and then there comes a time when you just post it and let it travel where it is meant to in the universe… :o) I will definitely keep and eye on your Blog… my girlfriend liked the photo at the top of the page are yu in Ireland?

    • ocksblog October 24, 2009 at 3:06 pm #

      thanks :)
      I have added your blog to my blogroll actually – I always look out for nice poetry blogs to put on there, and the travelling theme of yours is nice too.

      As to the image: I would love to claim it as mine but it actually comes with one of the default wordpress layouts! I’m not in Ireland, just over the sea in England. Beautiful picture though

  3. Janine December 14, 2009 at 2:22 pm #

    So beautiful…
    So raw….

    “Touch you with my hands that are always empty without you”… I can almost feel the ache.

    • ocksblog December 14, 2009 at 10:29 pm #

      thanks for reading and commenting :)

  4. booguloo March 8, 2013 at 7:06 pm #

    That’s a definite a love poem ;) Thanks for stopping by.

    • ocksblog March 10, 2013 at 8:33 pm #

      Thanks for reading and extra thanks for commenting!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 30 other followers

