Snow Hides. Haiku

7 Jan

Timeless white snow coats

earth cleanly, underneath bides

black modern tarmac.

snow sun peak district

Snow in the Peak District, Yorkshire, England. (By my mate Martyn Heath)

Just a snow poem as we have had probably the biggest snowfall for a decade here in South East England. It is beautiful snow, really light and crisp, not slushy or wet at all, and today the sky was bright blue , which made for beautiful photo-taking conditions. Unfortunately my camera broke (After just a few months. It had a ‘Zoom Error’ issue. It was a Fujifilm Finepix J20 – I shan’t be buying one of them again.) so I didn’t get any snaps, but I have uploaded a nice picture of a more rural snow scene up in hilly Yorkshire, taken by my friend Martyn a couple of years ago. This haiku relates more to urban snow, of course, so the picture isn’t 100 per cent relevant, but never mind, eh?

2 Responses to “Snow Hides. Haiku”

  1. ejalvey February 27, 2010 at 5:56 pm #

    Nice, and I usually don’t like Haiku.

    Good job.

    • ocksblog February 28, 2010 at 12:32 pm #

      cheers, I like haiku for describing nature – it can be great when it’s got right
      I don’t often dabble in it though

Leave a Reply

